Sunday, May 18, 2014

H.D. Deve Gowda - Biography

Deve Gowda was born on 18 May 1933 in Haradanahalli village of Holenarasipura taluk, Hassan District, Karnataka.

He earned his Diploma in Civil Engineering from Smt.L.V. Polytechnic, Hassan, Karnataka.

He is from a middle class agricultural family and was exposed to the hardships of farmers, early in his life and therefore became a champion of the farmers cause in his political career.

Deve Gowda joined the Indian National Congress party in 1953 and was its member until 1962. During this period, h acted as  the President of Anjaneya Cooperative Society of Holenarasipura and a Member of the Taluk Development Board, Holenarasipura taluk, Hassan.

In 1962, Deve Gowda was elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly from Holenarasipura constituency as an independent candidate.  He was elected from the same constituency to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for six consecutive terms from 1962 to 1989. He joined the Congress(O) during the Congress split and served as the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly from March 1972 to March 1976 and again fron November 1976 to December 1977. During the Emergency (1975–77), he was imprisoned in the Bangalore Central Jail. After emergency, he joined Janata Party. Deve Gowda was twice the President of state unit of the Janata Party. He served as a minister in the Janata Party Government in Karnataka headed by Shri Ramakrishna Hegde from 1983 to 1988. He became President of the state unit of Janata Dal in 1994 and led the party to victory in the 1994 State Assembly elections. He was elected from the Ramanagara constituency  and became  the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka in December 1994.

In January 1995, Deve Gowda toured Switzerland and attended the Forum of International Economists. During his tour to Singapore, he was able to bring in the needed foreign investment to the State.

In the 1996 general elections, the Congress party headed by P.V. Narasimha Rao lost decisively but BJP could not form the government. Then  the United Front ( of non-Congress and non-BJP regional parties) decided to form the Government at the Centre with the support of the Congress, Deve Gowda was unexpectedly chosen to head the government and became the 11th Prime Minister of India. He took oath  as Prime Minister of India on 1 June 1996 and continued until 11 April 1997.

The Janata Dal split in 1999, when a faction led by then Chief Minister J.H. Patel lent support to BJP-led National Democratic Alliance leading to the formation of Janata Dal (Secular) under H. D. Deve Gowda. Presently is National President of Janata Dal (Secular)

Interview in 2013 - Completed 50 years as a legislator in India


He was reelected to 16 Lok Sabha as a candidate of Janata Dal (Secular).


1962–89 : Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (seven terms)

1972–76 : Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly

1983–88 : Minister for Public Works and Irrigation, Government of Karnataka

1991 : Elected to 10th Lok Sabha

1991–94 : Member, Committee on Commerce Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Fertilizers Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture

1994 : President, Janata Dal, Karnataka.

1994–96 : Chief Minister of Karnataka

Jun. 1996 – Apr. 1997 : Prime Minister of India and also in charge of Ministries/Departments of Petroleum and Chemicals, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Atomic Energy, Home Affairs, Agriculture, Food Processing Industries, Urban Affairs and Employment and Non-Conventional Energy Sources

1996–98 : Member, Rajya Sabha

Nov. 1996-Apr. 1997 : Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha

1998  : Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term). National President, Janata Dal (Secular)

2002 : Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha in a by-election (3rd term)

2004 : Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (4th term)

2006–2008 : Member, Committee on Railways

2009 : Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)

31 Aug 2009 : Member, Committee on Defence

16 May 2014: Reelected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)

No comments:

Post a Comment